Author - Editor - Teacher


I am a flash fiction author, editor and teacher from California, now living in the UK.


I run online workshops that get results for new and established writers.


I have written four flash collections, a book of prose poetry and a novella-in-flash.


I frequently publish new pieces in literary magazines & e-zines


“The nuanced tonal complexity, which can go from the whimsical to a darker irony in the turn of a phrase, has been a signature feature of the work of Meg Pokrass. That complexity is, in her new collection, ALLIGATORS AT NIGHT, heightened further by the fertile invention and unpredictable interplay of these beautifully crafted pieces.”
— Stuart Dybek, author of Ecstatic Cahoots

“Pokrass is the flash fiction writers’ writer, and ALLIGATORS AT NIGHT is the perfect introduction to the world of microfiction.” — Mslexia Magazine

Buy It Here


The Dog Looks Happy Upside Down
 (Etruscan Press)

“Meg Pokrass bops and slams through these little stories like some genius extraterrestrial psychic on a world tour of the human heart. Her language is supercharged and witty, with humor and sadness in approximately equal amounts.”
— Bobbie Ann Mason, author of Shiloh and Other Stories, In Country, and The Girl in the Blue Beret“.

learn more

Cellulose Pajamas: Prose Poems
(Blue Light Press)

Meg Pokrass has the gift of a fluid imagination. Strange and beautiful prose poems pour across the pages of her new book in a confluence of the surreal and the mundane. It’s as if Raymond Carver and Russell Edson had collaborated on these fine poems, which manage to be fierce and vulnerable at the same time. Cellulose Pajamas is a moving, haunting, riveting book.
— Ellery Akers, Author of Practicing the Truth, and Knocking on the Earth .

learn more

My Very End of the Universe
(Rose Metal Press)

“My Very End of the Universe is indispensable reading for anyone who loves fiction that defies categorization—and for anyone who simply loves engrossing stories cast in superb prose. Each of these novellas-in-flash is exquisite in its own distinct way, and collectively they demonstrate what is possible when we break the traditional confines of form and dare to invent something new.”
—Laura van den Berg, author of The Isle of Youth

learn more

Bird Envy
(Harvard Bookstore)

““Sassy, sexy and smart, Meg Pokrass’s flash stories are addictive for their startling leaps of an imagination brilliantly at play.”
— Pamela Painter, author of Wouldn’t You Like to Know (Carnegie Mellon University Press).

learn more

Damn Sure Right
(Press 53)

Meg Pokrass’ flash fiction conveys entire worlds that are touching, haunting, funny, moving and strange in the most beautiful ways.
— Jessica Anya Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home.

learn more


All of the online workshops I lead are conducted on Facebook, in a dedicated private group. Over a two-week period, participants receive original exercises created by me to get your creative juices flowing! 

Former workshop participants’ stories have been published in The New York Times, Smokelong Quarterly, Wigleaf, Jellyfish Review, Cincinatti Review, formercactus, Atticus Review, Matchbook, and many more.



Click  below to find news and updates, including links to my latest published work.
Many stories are available to read free online.